What’s Left of Elephant?

A huge thank you must go to Jeremy D. Conlon of Left of Elephant Sound who recorded Hello Good Morning. He did a stella job of both sound engineering and coaxing a natural performance out of me on the day.

I’d seen his business flyers around town, offering a free day’s recording, and had meant to take him up on the offer earlier than I did. His band Cooper Black impress me and looking at his site, he’s worked for some fantastic artists (including Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu). That said, I’m glad I waited until I did, because I ended up with a better collection if songs than I would have. And I only ended up needing one additional day! Bargain!

20110818-122525.jpg
As well as getting me stomping, he made a fantastic suggestion of putting a photo of Jasper on the mic stand to help me relax and “think about the children”. I’ve struggled on anything more mellow than out n out rock in the studio in the past so I can’t thank him enough. He even went above and beyond the call, spending time mastering off the clock to get things to his own exacting standards.

The only problem I had was the temptation to read his book collection. The complete essays of Montaigne sitting on a shelf was a terrible distraction during the listen through!

So give him a cooee and head on out to Berringa for a session or three.

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

