Alice Springs from behind a Guitar

Last October the family and I flew to Alice Springs for me to play some kids gigs. It was Rach’s idea, she’d lived there for a little while once and had wanted to visit again. (I’m not sure but being four months pregnant with Rosie at the time may have been factor. Rach seems to associate the desert and desert people with motherhood).

I’d mentioned how the few times I’d played out of Ballarat at that point had been easier to book and that I suspected it was because what I do was less available and therefor more in demand away from home. But that traveling to one off gigs in small towns wasn’t very viable either.

“So you need to go somewhere big enough to have several kinders, but out of the way enough that they’d be excited by a musician visiting?”

20110821-122912.jpg

When we got there 2 months later, Rach had a surprise for me. After settling in at the caravan park we’d be sating at we went for a walk to pick up the 2nd-hand bike she’d arranged for me.

Again, riding to gigs was something we’d talked about before, but I’ve found Ballarat to be just a bit too spread out and hilly to ride to mist places withal guitar strapped to my back. Alice Springs, though, is flat.

20110821-080718.jpg

We had a great time. Wasn’t without it’s trials, but was an overwhelmingly positive trip. I was really keen to go back this year, but the Tiger airways grounding made the trip if been planning too much of a risk. Hopefully next year. Or maybe we’ll find other places to have an adventure to instead.

Here I am playing at Alice Plaza. There were actually heaps of kids there but Rach was careful not to photograph any faces since I couldn’t exactly chase down parents with waiver forms!

20110822-081412.jpg

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

