I’ve Still Much to Learn From my Mum

I thanked my Mum, Rhonda, in my CD notes for her insight and for singing to me.

She has a rich, expressive voice and a fine repertoire of standards, songs from the sixties and spirituals (her version of Mr. Deep Blue Sea us particularly impressive). Ever since I started writing songs as a child she has been my most valued critic – offering great and detailed advice on where a song needs improvement; what’s missing, what needs to be moved, expanded, changed, left out, emphasized… lyrically, rhythmically, melodically.

She’s also a great cook and gardener.

But I thought the one thing that I enjoyed doing that I needn’t seek her advice on was craft. I made my Mad Hatter’s hat and teapots and my cardboard ranger ute and crocodile just fine without her (although she did help with my Ladybug costume). But then Rach and I came to pick up Jasper from her place the other day and saw this…

20110825-123819.jpg

It’s a racing-roller-monster-tractor the two if them made together.

I still have much to learn.

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

