Farmer Earl’s Autumn Harvest

For two years now, on one Saturday in March, I’ve explored a dual identity- glimpsing a life that might have been had I made but a mere few different choices.

20110826-101358.jpg

As Farmer Earl I played all the songs I could think of, adapt or make up, about food, animals and health. “I’ve been brushing with my tooth brush” sung to the tune of “I’ve been working on the railroad”, Sesame St’s Beetles classic, “Hey Food” and many more (3 hours more in fact).

I played at the Best Start tent for the Moorabool Shire Autumn Harvest Festival. They had a parade and vintage vehicles, animals, lots and lots of fruit and vegetables, homemade stalls and all sorts of the things you’d expect at a country fair (I didn’t see some radiant, humble, pig though) And to be in character all I had to do was remember that I grew up on a farm any way.

I’ve since used the theme a couple of other times for my regular shows and childcare center performances and I really enjoy it (and know the kids do too). So hopefully I’ll be back out for next year’s harvest!

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

