Robin Hood!

It’s literacy week! I just finished playing fourteen ten minute sets for the various schools of the Moorabool Shire who’d gathered in Ballan for a “Literacy & Numeracy” trail. (Thanks again to Jane Gardner from the Best Start program for booking me).

There were quite a few other performers and guests (magicians, character actors, authors, illustrators, jugglers, one other musician) and the school groups walked from spot to spot for the shows.

I dressed as Robin Hood and played all action songs, testing the kids to see if they had what it takes to be merry men. (yes, I am quite exhausted, thanks for asking).

20110902-032351.jpg

I managed to put together a costume fairly easily; my own shirt and t-shirt warn inside out to look more rustic, Rach’s wide belt, my Cuban boots and some tights I borrowed from our friend Kristin. Made my hat (and Jasper’s) out of card following instructions I found on YouTube.. I made enough bows from tree-branches and string as a boy that I remembered how, and my quiver is an old toiletry bag I painted.

20110902-035430.jpg

I have to give Jasper credit for my arrows though, I’d already decided to use pipe cleaners with cardboard heads and fletching but was struggling to attach them (tape, stapler, glue). It was the boy who said: “you need a hole punch” (he gets us to put holes in boxes so he can tie them together to make trains).

I went with slits to thread the pipe-cleaners through instead of big holes but who knows how long it would have taken me without the suggestion. Thanks son!

When I left this morning he was busy drawing a feather to cut out and put on his hat, so I’m going to go home and see how he went! I’m always looking for more merry men to help in the battle against the sheriff…

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Gigs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

