Babushka ya ya

I still play music for folks other than just kids. Kids music is definitely my focus and so much fun but I don’t thinking could stop writing or playing other genres too. So I just played at Babushka.

20110907-114256.jpg

Garth and Christine have done a great job glamorizing the bar at 59 Humffray St North and the sound us superb. I played a bunch if old country folky sounding numbers of mine and dome of my dirges and a few old kooky songs from when I used to try to be Tom Waits junior… Nothing that would make one think. “yeah that guy must play kids music normally”. It was fun and a good memory test!

20110907-114849.jpg

I finished off with a bunch of random Beatles songs for my cuz Selby who was in the house. And they asked me if I wanted to stock there! I guess sometimes people sitting in a bar listening to music and eating nice curry may think “I’ll buy my niece/nephew that CD there and be the cool Auntie/Uncle”.

20110907-115237.jpg

(I know parents go to bars too, but normally it’s to stop thinking about their kids for the night 😉 ) But yes, I enjoy doing other shows; I think it helps keep me fresh and slightly more normal. Playing there again on the 21st of Sept too.

One other thing that makes me dig the place is that I thought my Rosie looked like a little babushka doll when she was a new born, so the name reminds me of her and helps me do my best.

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Stockists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

