So, what have you been up to, Earl? I’ve been playing quite a few gigs, thanks for asking, um, Earl.

So I played heaps of really fun gigs the last two weekends, the Ballarat Show, The Baby and Children’s Expo, the launch of the new Community Hub, Childcare Centre and Kindergarten in Wallace and the MOPs end of year Family Fun Day! (Plus my regular cafe shows and a couple of other non-kids gigs besides).

Phew!

They were all special in different ways. I had more than one child tell me I was their highlight of the show (which is just such a huge complement)!

It was great being part of a new thing in the Baby Expo; so thanks to Rachel at Visionary Entertainment for putting it together and having me along.

Playing at Wallace was also a particular honour… My little brother went to the old kinder there and we grew up nearby! I love getting the chance to play for country kids who often don’t get as much of an opportunity to experience live music as others. I was shown playing for the kids on the tellie that night! Talk of me playing there regularly next year too.

Actually, Id love to be able to afford to travel further afield around this state and beyond and will be applying for touring grants this season; though the % of applicants who receive funding is quite low. We’ll see!

A few other kinders, childcare centres and playgroups are talking about having me play regularly next year now I mention it, so fingers crossed (it’d be great not having to spend so much time booking shows; although I’d still want to play to new people in new places when I can as well)!

If any other groups or places any of you are involved in would be interested in such a thing, give me a shout.

And MOPs was awesome. They’d organised a whole heap of activities for the day, of which I was only a part. ‘They held it at the Mount Blowhard PS. There are amazing facilities at that school! Thanks heaps Rachel, Hayley and everyone for having me.

Thanks all so much for the support you’ve shown me in this endeavour too. It’s been a struggle, but it’s so much more rewarding emotionally than accounting ever was!

Earl

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Gigs, Inspiration, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

