The Tangled Maze

20120103-144751.jpg

This is list of challenges children are given when they visit The Tangled Maze the nice little tourist destination aspect of the Misty Downes Nursery at 2301 Midland Hwy, Springmount (between Daylesford and Creswick out side of Ballarat).

20120103-143955.jpg

I was thinking about places other than schools, libraries and childcare/kinders that might want some kids music a while ago and gave them a call. They were interested and said for me to come out for a meeting. I’d actually never been there even though it’s nearby. Before we had a chat, Judy (the co-manager) suggested I have a look around for inspiration. So I had a go at the challenges.

20120103-151025.jpg

It was really fun and, well, challenging. I found the answer to one of the challenges where I expected something else to be.

20120103-151231.jpg

And couldn’t figure out how to get to the top of this platform.

20120103-151328.jpg

Even though I cheated.

20120103-151425.jpg

Kids were running all over the place with teachers hot on their heals. Back outside the maze I’d seen other kids enjoying the big chess set and mini golf. I was surprised how busy it was for a Wednesday, actually, but apparently school groups are their biggest customers (along with seniors clubs, weddings and business functions) and I’m not alone as a relative local who’d never been (which is part of why they were interested in having me play). While all the kids were clearly having a blast, I was starting to get a little desperate.

20120103-152009.jpg

Until I found a nice fountain with a statue, a couple of benches and some fish and had a bit more of a sit and think. What kind of kids music show could I do out here? Quite a few classic themes would work. Three of my existing shows – The Mad Hatters Tea Party, Lady Bugs Picnic & Ranger Earl’s Aussie Animal Adventure – could be rejigged to fit easily enough. But I prefer to do new things and started wondering about Neverland. I easily found my way out of the maze after that and Judy and I had a great meeting.

I’ll be playing five shows there this month, Sunday’s 8th, 15th & 22nd and Wednesdays 11th & 18th of January at 11. I’ll be dressed as a pirate. I’ll play some songs, we’ll make some pirate hats (it always comes back to hats with me) and have a treasure hunt in the maze. I encourage you to come and bring your kids (in costume if there’s time. Although I’ll be a pirate anything Neverland – mermaids, lost boys, fairies – would work) especially if you live nearby and have never been. My show is included within the regular entry price on those days and should only add to the fun.

And don’t worry about your kids getting lost. I’ve been practicing.

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Gigs, the business and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

