Flutter Byes!

So, I know I’m not the only one who’s noticed the huge number of butterflies around this year. I’ve seen heaps of the orange ones within Ballarat and as far afield as Creswick, Millbrook and Rokewood in those directions. Although I think they might actually be moths (because of their folded wing position in rest; a useful though not always accurate way to tell the difference). I tried to take a photo of a flutter of them flittering around the garden but wasn’t quick enough.

20120104-162400.jpg

I’ve been wondering why their numbers are so high this year but, in a rare mood for me, haven’t wanted to research the answer as I’ve preferred the mystery and speculation.

Butterflies have great creative significance for me. One of my favorite movies as a kid was The Last Unicorn and when I watched it again a few years ago with Rach she observed, jokingly, how similar I am in some ways to the character of The Butterfly.

20120104-173642.jpg

I choose to see his positive attributes. (I really must read the book one day). Also, when I was preparing my Ladybugs Picnic show this year I wrote some words to the tune of The Beatles’ “Eight Days a Week” about Butterflies: “Taste with Their Feet”.

I’ll probably never be able to record it
for copyright reasons, but here are the (scientifically accurate) lyrics:

Oh I like butterflies
yes you know it’s true
I hope you like butterflies
I can tell you do

They flitter and flutter
flitter and flutter
But did you know that butter-
Flies taste with their feet

They fly from flower to flower
To eat the pollen
But the first thing they taste with
Is not their tongue

They flitter and flutter
flitter and flutter
But did you know that butter-
Flies taste with their feet

They taste with their feet
All the lovely pollen
taste with their feet
When they land on a flower

They flitter and flutter
flitter and flutter
But did you know that butter-
Flies taste with their feet

Taste with their feet!

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Gigs, Inspiration, Reflections, Song Writing, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flutter Byes!

  1. Katherine says:

    I have not seen a lot of butterflies this year, but I’ve seen an uncharacteristic amount of blue birds. Or maybe they were blue jays. Either way, they were birds that were blue, and I saw hundreds.

    • Being on the other side of the world is probably a good explanation as to why you haven’t seen the same butterflies (or moths?) I have and why I haven’t seen the blue birds that might be Jays. I don’t know enough about birds to spot the difference either. My grandma would have known. I like your blog title; always like a good pun and I don’t think hair salons and cafes should have all the fun. Thanks for stopping by, Katherine.

Leave a Reply

