Awesome Costume! Awkward Photo!

Hey,

So much has been happening since last time. Have a new job (contract) I’ll tell you about. Rosie’s walking, kind of. We re-painted Jasper and our own bedrooms. And I played another Begonia Festival!

20120208-154706.jpg

Erin Santmaria made my Octopus Costume. It looks great and was actually very easy to still play guitar and sing while wearing. Hard to take a photo of oneself though!

I really enjoyed this year’s festival. Had fantastic crowds each day and was so pglad that the three new songs I wrote especially for this performance all worked!

20120326-121242.jpg

This is the kids and I “Diving in a Submarine”, but we also swam like fish and octopus, scuttled like crabs and sung like wales! (It was beautiful).

I had a dad approach me at another festival this weekend and say his daughter really enjoyed the shows and that he thought it was great that the city arranged an activity for little kids to do as a group. I agree! So, thanks again City of Ballarat and Pilkinton Poductions for having me back (especially to Lisa Cressey for all her help with the preparation and props).

Oh yeah, the props!

20120326-122618.jpg

Borrowed these from BLOC (thanks Lyle). They were originally for the local production of Seusical (which my cousin Jack Richardson – a ridiculously good actor – was Cat in the Hat for) but they repurposed as the “Octopus’s Garden” quite well.

Lyle and Jim do most of the prop making for BLOC and share my “let’s see what we can use this again for” approach. I’ve used the same ladies scarf for my mad hatters hat band, monkey king neckerchief and pirate bandana and plan to start building more robust props of my own, as soon as I clean my shed!

Til next time, reduce, reuse and recycle!

Earl

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Gigs, Reflections, the business and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

