Songs About You – A Friend’s Pozible

One of my friends and heroes in the songwriters category is running a crowd funding project to support the printing of a collection of his lyrics.

http://www.pozible.com.au/index.php/archive/widget_2011_1/5554/34939/011277

Hap (as many of Justin’s friends know him) is a fantastic guy; funny, deep and considerate. He’s been a great supporter of mine throughout the years, from when I first started on the local scene to when our bands The Rye Catchers and the Dead Salesmen toured together and right up to and especially my switch to focusing on playing children’s music. He’s bought his kids along to many of my shows and always gives great critical feedback on my performances.

And his lyrics are fantastic.

As his (incredibly funny) project video addresses, he also started song writing thanks to a suggestion that the activity could be helpful for dealing with depression. While my teen issues weren’t specifically depression, I was also encouraged in my high-school poetry and music efforts by some folks for similar reasons and are as likewise grateful as Hap for the encouragement. I don’t know where I’d be without music; Hap’s especially.

20120405-132038.jpg

I took a photo of the hose attachment in the bath. I thought it looked pretty,

It is part of my dreams as a writer/performer that playing music for little kids now will be in someway helpful for them in the future as well. Maybe as inspiration. I don’t know.

I do know, though, that I support the “Songs About You” project and hope you will too.

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Other than Music, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

