Butterflies in your tummy? Five quick tips on how to calm the nerves before an audition

I just started teaching singing again last week. A couple of local musos contacted me on facebook and asked if I was currently giving lessons.

This is pretty much how I always get students, most of whom have been adults rather than kids (or people ask me after gigs). I generally feel more like a performer than a teacher, and Vocalise and the Ballarat Performing Arts school are already quite established in the `lessons for kids’ area, so I don’t tend to seek students. But I am reconsidering this stance, and every now and again a small group of people make inquiries…I usually end up giving them a 8-10 lesson program of breathing exercises, warm-ups and other exercises that build strength, flexibility and endurance.

20121010-104910.jpg

Neither I nor any of my students are as flexible as my daughter, Rosie though.

It’s fun! And showing people what I know is a great reminder for me too. So if you and some of your friends are looking to improve your technique, drop me a line! Skype might even be a possibility, and I’m also toying with the idea of running a seminar with individual follow-up appointments, instead of weekly lessons if that sounds intriguing.

On a related note, today I learned that the National Institute of Youth Performing Arts will be running presentations in Ballarat schools this month to drum up some interest in their Choir program and such.

I hear they do good work. They’re sure to find some talented youngsters in this town. We’ve such an awesome history of performing arts! (A history that I feel a part of: my grandfather, Frank Richardson, was the first secretary of the Ballarat Light Opera Company back in the whenever that was. One of his other grandson’s, Jack, is a great young actor, by the way).

20121010-122021.jpg

He gets hassled by fans enough as it is.

When I went to learn more about the NIYPAA’s approach I found the blog this re-post is from. (Take your time reading it; I’ll wait).

I like the 5 tips.

They tie in well with the `develop a different mind-set to distinguish rehearsing from performing’ approach that I advocate to my students (I like saying `vocalise when you practice, sing when you play’).

I’ll admit I’ve messed up one or several auditions before: the nerves involved feel completely different from the pre-gig jitters that I’m used to dealing with; but I can see these five tips as working pretty well for both these situations, and more. I’m glad I found them.

Sing and Dance Australia

Don’t stress out about your audition, read our 5 tips!

Sweaty palms? Dry mouth? Finding it hard to sit still? Sounds like you might just be about to audition!

We all audition at some point in our lives. Whether it’s a job interview, a new school or even a new group of friends, we are on show and aware of our behaviour and other people’s opinions of us. Auditions are the same except you know for certain you’re being watched and it can make us all a little nervous. At NIYPAA we’ve held auditions every year for 38 years for our choir and dance programs so for us it’s a normal part of life. We’re writing this post on auditions because at the moment we are holding them around the country and we see hundreds of young people suffer through nerves or “butterflies” and we know all the tricks on…

View original post 554 more words

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

