How to Make a Giant Floor Stave

Hey, you know how I’m currently studying to become a primary school teacher? How useful would this be as a resource? `Very useful’ I here you say. I agree. Thanks Rhythm Express!

Also, tomorrow I’m running an all day workshop on singing, songwriting, performing, prop design and craft, writing short plays and putting set lists together (phew!) for the Clunes Youth Group because we’ll be performing together at Clunes BookTown this year (first weekend of May).

I’m having a pretty big year.

Rhythm Express

With my piano and flute teaching hat on, I thought I’d share with you how to make a giant floor stave and then give a few ideas on how to use it.

I made this using a 1.2m length of 1.4m (55″) wide vinyl tablecloth (also known as oil cloth) which you can purchase off the roll and cut to size.  Some fabric and home furnishing stores will stock this but you can also order from the internet.  The only other equipment you need is black tape (I used 18mm (3/4″) insulating or plumbing tape), a ruler and marker pen, and a pair of scissors.

Starting from the top edge (which I knew was straight) I marked the lines 10cm apart using a fine permanent marker and carefully rolled out the tape along the marks.  I had thought it would be hard to keep the tape straight but provided I worked slowly it wasn’t too difficult.  I left a larger…

View original post 165 more words

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Make a Giant Floor Stave

  1. Pingback: That people-sized floor music stave |

Leave a Reply

