A Hat Box and a Great Big Teapot

So, last year I played 6 different themed concerts in 6 months and filmed them all. I had used all of the themes except superheroes before, but even then each show required new songs and new props.

Big props.

20130418-135908.jpg
A big box

20130418-140132.jpg
Shaped like a hat

Most of them I made, generally out of cardboard boxes (I love cardboard boxes – its one of the things I share in common with my audience members) but some were borrowed…

20130418-141225.jpg
Palm trees courtesy of BLOC Theatre; treasure chest from Cia, a generous parent; and inflatable pirate ship from my son.

And some were trees.

20130418-141537.jpg
The kids enjoyed exploring the bush & finding the animals more than I anticipated.

Way back when I exclusively played heavy rock and occasional roots music, my tools of trade were guitars, amps, stands and microphones. Now masking tape, paint and a stanley knife feature just as heavily. It’s been fun. I never realized how much I missed making stuff with my hands in the years between highschool & discovering children’s music. It’s been a great part of the job & more good practice for playing with my kids.

20130418-142157.jpg
Half-way through making a box ute.

20130418-142252.jpg
Half-way through making a meccano dune buggy & a play dough lizard

For the performance workshop I ran at the Clunes Library recently, to prepare for Clunes Booktown, it was great to be able to show them some things I’d made to help with their own ideas, rather than just talk & sing.

20130418-142734.jpg
My Bugs & Beetles flower box tied in well with the Alice in Wonderland theme they’re working on.

Plus all the stuff I now have in the shed can be used as play things too! Jasper knows how much I love teapots and him, and the other day he got to combine the two…

20130418-143037.jpg
Good for general mood & energy.

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Gigs, Reflections, the business and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

