Was not Pozible, Might be Possible

During the last six weeks I’ve played a half dozen short gigs outside, in playgrounds in and around Ballarat!

20130703-132752.jpg
It’s the red coats!

I’ve receiver fan mail art for kids…

20130703-133008.jpg
Note the awesome shadow/3D effects

As well as adults!

20130703-133111.jpg
The Music-Man, keeping citizens safe with sound!

At the same time I’ve been doing my teaching rounds at Scotsburn Primary School, where I tried to be more of a help than an imposition to my Mentor Teacher by keeping a lid on my boundless enthusiasm and tendency to go off on tangents until appropriate moments.

20130703-133442.jpg
We made objects! I got more excited about the difference between pyramids and prisms than small children are probably used to.

I, of course, performed for the students when I could and quite a few of them attended the various public shows as well.

It was all great fun, educational (for me and hopefully all the kids) and very rewarding. However at the same time I was trying to run my Pozible campaign to fund a concert DVD but sadly, despite heaps of support from all my fans and friends (tweeting, sharing, pledging), it wasn’t successful.

There are lots of reasons for this, including: bad timing; the figure I needed being quite large; and, maybe, simply that a single big product like a DVD isn’t really what you guys want from me.

This changes my plans, and my goals, but not my aims.

20130703-134558.jpg
An info-graphic on the life cycle of Emperor Penguins I drew on the whiteboard for the kids. It’s a metaphor.

As well as becoming a teacher I’m still going to keep playing music for kids–after such a great 3 years for myself and my family there’s no way I could stop–but I have to re-think my funding model and what time I put into what activities.

Importantly, I still have to pay Redwood Entertainment for the filming and editing work they’ve already done! (check out my youtube channel). But they’ve been great; very supportive, understanding and patient. And hey, the make wedding videos if anyone needs one.

Now, I’ve received lots of feedback messages on the campaign, but any more thoughts would be appreciated. I’ll get back to you all with my new plans soon! My next public gig is at a school fete in Bendigo in August. But for now, thanks again for your help, and keep on walking, hopping and jigging!

20130703-140639.jpg
One old song finally made sense; all the kids, mums and dads joined in dancing around this ‘Thinking Tree’ at the Eureka Gardens!

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Reflections, the business and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

