The ‘Light bulb’ Moment

Hear hear!

Now, even if not necessarily this awesome choir-who (full disclosure) I’ve done some work for in the past-I certainly recommend choirs as a great activity for your kids, be that priavte, community or school based. We’re very lucky in Ballarat to have quite a few options for little kids who like to sing, but I’m sure there’s some option near you…and if there isn’t you might like to consider making one 🙂

Sing and Dance Australia

There is nothing greater than seeing the sense of accomplishment from a child when they take that brave step and sing on their own for the very first time! I feel that I’ve been able to mentor and guide someone in the same way someone guided and passed on their enthusiasm to me.

Last term I was able to pull off what I call a “light bulb” moment; that glorious few seconds when a child leaps from “I can’t do this” to “I have done it! And finally sings on their own! It may only be for a few seconds but the courage and emotion that has gone into taking that plunge is enormous. The reason I love teaching is for moments like these! I have been teaching a child who is very shy. She understands all the concepts being taught, but found it difficult to sing and speak in…

View original post 216 more words

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

