From Primary School to University and Back (again and again)

I’ve just had my first observation day for my second lot of placement…It went well, I think I love the school (and especially the library, with stairs)!

All this `learning how to teach’ I’ve been doing this year has certainly kept my brain busy and it’s been interesting reflecting on my own primary school experiences and how they’ve influenced my life (such as how one of my early teachers sang and played guitar to us) and what approaches to teaching I’m now planning to use (many similar techniques to how I presently perform for, and interact with students, but many more besides).

TheScienceGuy

Dressing as Bill Nye, or maybe The Doctor (non specific regeneration), helped me get in the mood to take a science class

Of course, I’ve also recently had a blast bring my `Super-hero Spectacular’ back to both the Creswick Library and the Run Ballarat charity event (support the Ballarat Bass Hospital children’s Ward), including playing my new `it Makes You Stronger’ gospel-style song about exercise.

But the biggest news is my next big public performance…

Springfest 12.00pm Nov 3rd at Lake Wendouree!

Volunteer students from Urquhart Park PS will be performing with me to put on a concert of popular and re-written (mostly by them) nursery rhymes and other classic hits,  to launch and support United Way Ballarat‘s imagination library program to supply free books to our local children! We’ve been rehearsing together for the last few weeks. It’s been a lot of fun, and a great `half-way’ point between my usual one-off incursions and potential on-going teaching roles.

The Imagination Library’s amazing `free books’ aim is part of a broader movement first started by Dolly Parton in her home-town, that has since successfully expanded across the USA. I join Uniting Way in hoping things will similarly take off in Australia!

So, I hope to see you at the Lake 🙂

Earl

PS While primarily meant for School Principals to look at, I’ve added a `Teaching Portfolio’ page to this site,  for those interested in seeing what I’ve been up to these last few months!

PPS Barney Saltzberg (writer/illustrator/performer of The Beautiful Oops and many other great books and songs) started following me on twitter!

 

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

