Back on the Blogging Horse

Half way through last year I’d up my first contract teaching primary classroom music. It had been great; I’d enjoyed sharing mysic skills and ideas with students on an ongoing, deeper level  (compared to the brief interactions of gigs and incursions).

image

I’m pretty sure this made sense at the time.

But I was still looking around for work – be that gigs, private instrumental music teaching, incursions or more classroom teaching – when I stopped blogging. I can’t remember why.

image

Stare into the eyes of my great great grandfather and wonder.

Stare into the eyes of my great great grandfather and wonder.

It might have been I felt I needed a mental break in preparing for yet more new things. I started working for an awesome non-profit organisation called The Songroom and running regular music and movement activities for a new playgroup soon after. Or maybe there was no reason, or at least not a clear one.

image

This photo represents that idea.

In anycase, it’s been a little over a year and I’ve worked at half a dozen new schools – in one capacity or another – teaching hundreds of kids dozens of musical games and songs. We’ve discussed concepts of music and written heaps of new songs together too, so I’ve a lot to share with you!

image

Because the internet makes teammates of us all.

For starters, check out the new video gallery via here or the menu (I’ll write a bit about each of these new songs and how they were written). And check out the song room and the great work they do:

http://www.songroom.org.au

Thanks folks,

Earl

About earlleonardmusicforkids

Earl Leonard is a talented musician with an honest rocking style. Kids love his enthusiam and sense of fun. Performances for early primary and pre-school aged children are structured to leave room for participation; including changing well known song lyrics with the help of the kids. Songwriting workshops for grades 3 and up open a world of creativity; exploring language rhythm and rhyme. through all the fun and games children learn about words and music.
This entry was posted in Other than Kids Music, Reflections, the business and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

